pátek 4. května 2018

South Africa - Durban

Coat of arms of Durban
Durban  is the largest city in the South African province of KwaZulu-Natal and the third most populous in South Africa after Johannesburg and Cape Town. It is also the second most important manufacturing hub in South Africa after Johannesburg. Located on the east coast of South Africa, Durban is famous for being the busiest port in the country. It is also seen as one of the major centres of tourism because of the city's warm subtropical climate and extensive beaches. Durban forms part of the eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality.
The Moses Mabhida Stadium is a stadium in DurbanSouth Africa, named after Moses Mabhida, a former General Secretary of the South African Communist Party. It is a multi-use stadium. The stadium became a venue for several events, like bungee jumping, concerts, cricket, football, golf practice, motorsports and rugby union
Owner eThekwini (Durban Metropolitan UniCity)
Capacity 56,000 
Field size Stadium: 320m x 280m x 45m, Arches: 100m
Surface Grass
Broke ground 2006
Opened 28 November 2009
Construction cost R 3.4 billion
(US$ 450 million)
Architect Gerkan, Marg and Partners Theunissen Jankowitz Durban, Ambro-Afrique Consultants, Osmond Lange Architects & Planners, NSM Designs, Mthulisi Msimang, Designed by the late Sibusiso Nene( a grade 11 student)

Žádné komentáře: